The Diocese of St Albans Multi-Academy Trust is a Church of England Trust established in September 2016 primarily for Church of England schools in the Diocese of St Albans, which consists of the Local Authority areas of Hertfordshire, Bedford Borough, Central Bedfordshire, Luton, parts of the London Borough of Barnet and two parishes in Buckinghamshire. It is passionate about creating and maintaining Church of England Academies that serve their local communities through the provision of a rich and diverse curriculum underpinned by Christian Values.

The Trust today

The Trust admitted its first Academies, Churchfield CE Academy, Thomas Whitehead CE Academy and Manshead CE Academy, between 1st March and 1st May 2017. Two further Academies, Caldecote CE Academy and Kensworth CE Academy, joined the Trust in July and August resepctively.  Totternhoe CE Academy joined the Trust in February 2018.  Roxton VA CofE Acadent joined the Trust in the Winter 2018.

As a Church of England Multi-Academy Trust our commitment to a locally based education is delivered through an approach consistent with the faith and practice of the Church of England. The Trust is committed to providing a locally based high quality education that enables schools to meet the needs of their local community, whilst benefitting from a regional network of support. Academies that are part of the Trust retain their name, school uniform, local customs and through the Academy Council will promote local engagement in school life.

As part of the Diocese of St Albans educational provision academies within DSAMAT are called to live God’s love by being distinctively Christian, community focussed and by serving the common good. All academies in the Trust seek to deliver the curriculum within a programme of Christian values and virtues in an overarching ethos that sees each individual child as being of worth and having the capacity to grow into a fully rounded person.

Future Development

The Diocese of St Albans Multi-Academy Trust has a vision to grow steadily over the next 10 years until it is working with up to 40 Church of England academies. These will be located in two regional hubs (Bedfordshire and Hertfordshire) of approximately 20 schools each. As the Trust grows and develops regional hub boards will assume responsibility for the day to day running of academies leaving the Trust Board to focus on the strategic growth of the Trust.

The Trust’s growth strategy has been designed to allow the Trust to grow at a sustainable rate. In September 2017 the Trust wrote to all good or outstanding schools in the Diocese of St Albans inviting applications for entry to the Trust in September 2018. Thereafter applications to join the Trust need to be presented to the Diocesan Board of Education using the timetable below

Decision to convert and join DSAMAT                                Date of entry

End March 2018                                                                       1 January 2019

End July 2018                                                                           1 April 2019

End December 2018                                                               1 September 2019

Church Schools in the Diocese of St Albans in receipt of a Directive Academy order will continue to be admitted to the Trust following discussion with the Regional Schools Commissioner.


Our Academies

Totternhoe Academy

Roxton VA CE Academy

Kensworth CE Academy

Churchfield CE Academy

Thomas Whitehead CE Academy

Manshead CE Academy

Caldecote CE Academy

St Albans Diocesan Multi Academy Trust

Manshead CE Academy, Dunstable Road, Caddington, Luton, LU1 4BB

T: 01525 840183
F: 01525 402451

E: info@stalbansdmat.co.uk

St Albans Diocesan Multi Academy Trust is a Company Limited by Guarantee registered in England and Wales number 10449374 and an Exempt Charity.
Registered Address: Manshead CE Academy, Dunstable Road, Caddington, Luton, LU1 4BB

© Copyright 2019 St Albans Diocesan Trust, All Rights Reserved • This is Made4Education